e4e logo

Empowerment for Excellence

In 2013, Empowerment for Excellence was established when a small group of UCO women gathered in infrequent meetings to develop a purpose, core values, and outcomes that would sustain the support of faculty and staff women at UCO. Many of the women in this inaugural group had met previously in an informal Book Club group. For this reason, Fall, Spring, and Summer Book Clubs continue to be routine components of E4E programming.  E4E receives financial and/or other in-kind support from the Office of Academic Affairs (AA), the Center for Excellence in Transformative Teaching and Learning (CETTL), and the Center for eLearning and Connected Environments (CeCE). E4E programming and budgeted expenditures occur with oversight from the E4E Executive Board. All UCO faculty and staff women are automatically members of Empowerment for Excellence upon their employment at UCO; no membership dues are required.

2017 E4E Executive Board

Dr. Jeanetta D. Sims, President, jsims7@uco.edu

Ms. Tracy Fairless, Secretary, tfairless@uco.edu

Ms. Tracey Romano, Events Director/Treasurer, tromano@uco.edu

Ms. Katrina Shaklee, Marketing-Public Relations Director, kshaklee1@uco.edu

Dr. Darla Fent-Kelly, Book Club Chair, dfent@uco.edu

Dr. Tyler Weldon, President-Elect, tweldon2@uco.edu

Dr. Emily Griffin Overocker, Past President, eoverocker@uco.edu

Dr. Linda Banks, Academic Affairs Liaison, lbanks5@uco.edu

Ms. Kristy Farris, Member at Large, kfarris2@uco.edu

Dr. Beth Kerr, Member at Large, ekerr@uco.edu

Dr. Jeff King, Member at Large, jking47@uco.edu

Dr. Kimberly Pennington, Member at Large, kpennington8@uco.edu 

Women Who Inspire Award

Each Fall, Empowerment for Excellence honors a UCO faculty or staff woman who has made a significant, indelible campus impact that often extends beyond the campus community. The Women Who Inspire honoree is recognized during an afternoon event (typically in October) where she serves as a speaker and facilitator with the entire campus community invited to attend. Nominations for each year’s honoree are submitted to the E4E Board, which votes to select the annual recipient.

Women Who Inspire Award Recipients
2017 – Katrina Shaklee
2016 – Charlotte Simmons, Ph.D.
2015 – Beth Kerr, J.D.
2014 – Donna Cobb, Ed.D.
2013 – Patricia LaGrow, Ph.D., R.N.

E4E General Fund

The Empowerment for Excellence General Fund has been established at the UCO Foundation to advance E4E programming and to support the professional development of UCO faculty and staff women. All contributions can be made to the UCO Foundation and designated as an E4E General Fund donation. All E4E contributions from UCO employees count towards UCO’s annual faculty/staff campaign; payroll deduction forms for ongoing E4E General Fund contributions can be provided upon request by contacting the E4E president.

Fall Event

Women Who Inspire

Tuesday, October 31st from 1:30 to 3 p.m.

Heritage Room, Nigh University Center