George and Donna Nigh Leadership Academy

On April 19, 1999, the Oklahoma State Legislature and Former Governor Frank Keating established the George and Donna Nigh Public Service Scholarship. The purpose of this scholarship is to allow each of the two and four year higher educational institutions, both public and private, to select and honor one student each year to be called a Nigh Scholar.  Each student is selected and nominated by their institutional President and receive a one time $1,000 Leadership Scholarship.

The Scholarships are provided to the Scholars at the conclusion of a five-day Leadership Academy here in the Capitol City. The Academy is an intense mixture of personal development sessions on expanding personal skills and understanding of leadership. The Academy provides for all program and personal expenses.

This Academy is supported by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education which contracts with the Nigh Academy for implementation. During the history of the Academy more than 600 students have been awarded the title of Nigh Scholar. Past students have become members of the State Legislature, county commissioners, mayors, city councilman, lawyers, doctors, teachers, Federal and State officials, businessmen and higher education administrators and professors. They are making a difference.


2018 Nigh Scholar Award Winners